Review: LUSH Mask of Magnaminty

I’ve been with Lush for more than 1 and a half years but I can’t believe I have only recently discovered my love for all-time Lushie’s favorite products like Ultrabland and Mask of Magnaminty. My love for Mask of Magnaminty (MoM) started about 2-3 months ago when I purchased a super fresh small tub of MoM. I’ve used it before when I first started working at Lush but didn’t really seem to love it that much – I really have NO idea why!

Image

MoM is only of our best sellers in Singapore and I believe it is world wide too. It is such an awesome face mask! After being with Lush all these time, I have come to realize that a product really works best when it’s fresh. In my opinion, I have found that products made within the first 6 months of manufacture is the best. I’m saying this with experience as I have stocked up on many Lush products during my trip to UK last year and have compared it with the new ones that I have repurchased. In terms of appearance, consistency and efficacy, I really love it when it’s FRESH! After all, FRESH IS BEST in Lush, isn’t it? 😉

Image

 

The MoM that I have now is made by the lovely Wiola on the 3rd July 2013 and will last me through 3rd November 2013. MoM only has a short shelf life of 4 months and after purchasing MoM for a handful of times, I realized that it’s best used within the first 2 months. I love it when it’s still moist and fresh. Although it lasts you for 4 months, I find that it will dry up when it approaches the end of the 3rd month of its shelf life.

Image

 

Teehee, that’s me with MoM! Customers always ask how much or how thick a layer should they put on and my reply will be something thick enough to cover my whole face to make it opaque. I know some people like to spread just a thin layer but I find that the thicker it is, the better it feels for me – so that’s how I do it all the time. I typically leave it on for 5-10 minutes (as instructed) and use warm water to rinse it off after. 🙂

Why is MoM so good, you ask? It has the simplest but the best ingredients ever!

Image

 

The bentonite gel, being the main ingredient actually helps to cleanse the skin and extract all the dirt and oil from the skin. It also helps to tighten the pores. What I love most is the peppermint oil and the ground aduki beans! The peppermint makes my skin feel tingly and the ground aduki beans are just the right texture of exfoliants for the skin. MoM really suits all types of skin – whether you just want a face mask to relax your skin, cleanse your skin or minimize pores, this mask is for you!

I’ve tried the much raved about ‘Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask’ which some people say it’s a dupe for Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty and I can guarantee you that it is nothing close to the latter. If you think that it’s awesome, you probably haven’t tried MoM yet!

One thought on “Review: LUSH Mask of Magnaminty

  1. Super agree! I love MoM and yes, the Queen Helene mint julep crap has NOTHING on MoM. QH doesn’t smell good, isn’t even minty, and is nowhere as effective as MoM.

Leave a comment